Sir William Borlase's Grammar School

Young Scientist of the Year Awards

Congratulations to pupils for Young Scientist of the Year Awards

Huge congratulations to Mani Ipchi (Physics award), Shivani Shrestha (Chemistry award) and Fleur Nicholls (Biology award) for their prestigious Young Scientist of the Year awards. We are extremely proud of this achievement. The Awards ceremony, organised by Science Oxford, took place virtually this year and gave Mani, Shivani and Fleur the opportunity to listen to a range of stimulating talks by guest speakers from STFC’s Rutherford Appleton Laboratory and also Dr Sean Ellis from University of Oxford’s Jenner institute. Fleur explained:

We had the opportunity to hear about the fascinating development of the Astrazeneca vaccine and the journey of Dr Sean Ellis’ career as a vaccine scientist, as well as the pursuit of Becky Harding’s passion in working on one of the largest lasers at RAL! Also, the enthusiastic Steve George starting his own amateur rocket society. This evening highlighted the diversity of career paths in STEM and the fundamental message of “do what you enjoy!”. 

Fleur Nicholls, Year 13